X-Men Movies X-Men Movies

X-Men Movie Marathon: Your Step-by-Step Guide to Watching in Chronological Order

Dive into the mutant universe with our step-by-step guide to watching the X-Men movies in chronological order. Get ready for an epic X-Man Movie marathon!

Are you ready to embark on a journey through the mutant-filled world of the X-Men movies? With 13 films spanning two decades, the X-Men series offers a rich tapestry of superhero action, drama, and yes, a fair share of timeline complexities. Whether you’re a seasoned fan or a newcomer eager to explore the mutant universe, finding the optimal order to watch these films can be a bit of a challenge. But fear not! We’re here to provide you with a comprehensive roadmap through the tangled web of mutant mayhem.

x men movies

Understanding the Timeline Dynamics

Before we delve into the viewing order, it’s essential to grasp the timeline dynamics of the X-Men cinematic universe. Unlike some movie franchises, the X-Men series isn’t exactly linear. With time-travel, alternate realities, and retcons aplenty, keeping track of the chronological order can be a daunting task. However, with a bit of guidance, navigating the mutant multiverse can be a thrilling adventure.

The Release Order: A Simple Start

Let’s kick things off with the straightforward approach: watching the X-Men movies in the order they were released in cinemas. This method ensures you experience the evolution of the franchise as it unfolded over the years. Here’s the chronological list:

  1. X-Men (July 2000)
  2. X2 (May 2003)
  3. X-Men: The Last Stand (May 2006)
  4. X-Men Origins: Wolverine (May 2009)
  5. X-Men: First Class (June 2011)
  6. The Wolverine (July 2013)
  7. X-Men: Days of Future Past (May 2014)
  8. Deadpool (February 2016)
  9. X-Men: Apocalypse (May 2016)
  10. Logan (March 2017)
  11. Deadpool 2 (May 2018)
  12. Dark Phoenix (June 2019)
  13. The New Mutants (August 2020)

This traditional viewing order allows you to witness the progression of the X-Men saga from its humble beginnings to its epic conclusions. However, if you’re feeling adventurous and want to delve deeper into the intricate timelines of mutantkind, then chronological order might be the way to go.

1. Prequel Timeline: Origins and First Class

We begin our journey by delving into the early days of mutantkind with the prequel films:

  • X-Men: First Class (2011): Set in the 1960s, this film explores the origins of the X-Men and the tumultuous relationship between Professor Xavier and Magneto.
  • X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009): While primarily focused on Wolverine’s backstory, this film also includes flashbacks to various points in mutant history, providing essential context for the events to come.

By starting with the prequels, we lay the groundwork for understanding the origins of mutant powers and the formation of the X-Men team.

2. Original Timeline: The Classic Era

Transitioning to the original trilogy and its immediate successors, we delve into the classic era of mutant adventures:

  • X-Men (2000): Directed by Bryan Singer, this film introduces audiences to the world of mutants, setting the stage for the conflict between Professor Xavier’s X-Men and Magneto’s Brotherhood of Mutants.
  • X2 (2003): Widely regarded as one of the best X-Men films, this sequel delves deeper into the mutant mythos while raising the stakes with the emergence of the mutant-hunting Sentinel program.
  • X-Men: The Last Stand (2006): In this third installment, tensions between mutants and humans reach a boiling point, leading to a showdown that will change the course of mutant history forever.
  • The Wolverine (2013): Set after the events of The Last Stand, this film follows Wolverine on a personal journey of redemption and self-discovery in Japan.
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014): Serving as a bridge between the original and prequel timelines, this film features a time-travel plot that alters the course of mutant history, merging the two timelines into a single cohesive narrative.

3. Post-DOFP Timeline: A New Beginning

After the events of Days of Future Past, the timeline is reset, leading to a new continuity with its own set of challenges and adventures:

  • Deadpool (2016): This irreverent and action-packed film introduces audiences to the wise-cracking mercenary Deadpool and his unique brand of superheroics.
  • X-Men: Apocalypse (2016): Set in the 1980s, this film sees the X-Men facing off against the ancient mutant Apocalypse and his Four Horsemen in an epic battle for the fate of the world.
  • Deadpool 2 (2018): Building on the success of the first film, Deadpool 2 continues the adventures of the Merc with a Mouth as he forms the X-Force to take on a new threat.
  • Dark Phoenix (2019): Jean Grey’s transformation into the powerful Phoenix force threatens to tear the X-Men apart as they face their most formidable adversary yet.
  • Logan (2017): Set in a bleak future where mutants are on the brink of extinction, Logan follows an aging Wolverine as he embarks on one final mission to protect a young mutant girl named Laura.
  • The New Mutants (2020): Set in a secret facility, this film follows a group of young mutants as they discover their powers and must band together to escape their captors.


In conclusion, whether you opt for release order or chronological order, embarking on a journey through the X-Men movies is sure to be an exhilarating experience. From epic battles to heartfelt character moments, the mutant universe offers something for everyone. So grab your popcorn, settle in, and prepare to unleash your inner mutant as you explore the rich tapestry of the X-Men cinematic saga. Excelsior!


Q: What is the best order to watch the X-Men movies in?

A: For a chronological viewing experience, start with the prequel timeline featuring “X-Men: First Class” and “X-Men Origins: Wolverine,” then transition to the original trilogy and its immediate successors. Finally, explore the post-“Days of Future Past” timeline with films like “Deadpool” and “Logan.”

Q: Should I watch the X-Men movies in release order instead?

A: It depends on your preference. Watching in release order offers a straightforward approach to experiencing the evolution of the franchise, while chronological order provides a deeper understanding of the timeline dynamics.

Q: Is it necessary to watch all the X-Men movies?

A: Not necessarily. While watching all the films can provide a comprehensive understanding of the X-Men universe, you can still enjoy individual movies or focus on specific story arcs that interest you.

Q: Are there any essential movies I shouldn’t skip?

A: Key films that contribute significantly to the overarching storyline include “X-Men: Days of Future Past,” “Deadpool,” “Logan,” and “X-Men: Apocalypse.” However, each movie offers its own unique contribution to the mutant saga.

Q: What if I get confused by the timeline complexities?

A: Don’t worry! The X-Men series can be complex, but taking it one movie at a time and referring to guides like this one can help clarify any confusion. Plus, enjoying the superhero action and character development is what matters most!

Q: Are there any upcoming X-Men movies to look forward to?

A: While there haven’t been any recent announcements, keep an eye out for future developments in the X-Men cinematic universe, especially with the integration of mutants into the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *